'95 Infiniti J30 Fuel Issue

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 indiglo82

indiglo82

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 February 2008 - 01:27 AM

Hi all :) I'm hoping someone here could help me. I just purchased a 1995 Infiniti J30 from a private seller a couple days ago. The car has been great, until today. First, I'll give a bit of background information. I'm an entry-level mechanic at a Mazda dealership, have completed a year of technical school and have hands-on experience from working on family vehicles. With this in mind, I know how difficult it is to diagnose a vehicle over the phone or internet, so I'll try my best to describe the exact conditions to you. The first time I filled this car up with fuel, I made a mistake. I accidentally filled the car up with regular octane gasoline instead of premium as the car requires -- I'm sure this is due to me being so used to putting regular in with my old car that I just went into the routine and didn't notice until it was too late. I know with OBD-II vehicles the timing will retard to compensate for lower octane fuel, though this car is OBD-I. I started the car and it ran fine for about a day. Today it's giving me problems. After driving the car around all day today, I went to a restaurant and when I came out and started the car, I immediately got a CEL and the car stalled. I was able to start the car up again, CEL was still on and when I drove it around the parking lot it wouldn't go above 10-15 mph and 2,500 RPM. I'm assuming this is limp-home mode, but I can't be sure since this is the first time I've experienced it. The engine will run smoothly at idle but will run a little rough if you rev it a bit. Upon opening the gas cap, a rush of air comes out (audibly, too) that smells VERY strongly of gasoline. The exhaust also smells very strongly of unburnt fuel and gives off some white smoke at times. I checked the oil for signs of coolant (milky/coffee-colored fluid) and didn't find any. The seller cha