00 audi a6 2.8 quattro. (timing)

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 stilljackson

stilljackson

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 04:05 AM

well here we go, i can understand you shaking your head. im a little new to european and german cars.

i got this 2000 audi 2.8 a6, i originally had misfires on cylinder 1,2,3 and crank and cam sensor.

20 psi on fuel pressure.  i should have started with the basics and gone straight to the timing, it makes since that the car would tweek the fuel pressure because of timing off.

replaced fuel filter, and fuel pressure, car ran great for 10 minutes. then back to the shaking misfires and codes.

here is where i am now, did the timing belt, noticed alotta slack on the left bank, the side thats misfiring.

did the timing belt took out the slack. i was told i needed two special tools, cam shaft holder bar, and crank holder {3242}.

i hooked up the timing with the bar, didnt use the crank tool,  slapped it all back togeather.... now i have a misfire on cylinder 1 and 4,crank and cam sensor didnt show up, might have if it ran longer but i cannot risk bending valves.  sounded worse that before, i know its a interference engine, i ran it for no more than 60 seconds, i hope no valves are bent..... is it possible to bend em in 20 seconds?, i think its possible.

i was almost sure the timing was right, used the pully marks on the crank shaft, but noticed when you take it off the sproket you can move it a 8th of an inch depending how you bolt it on, which means i can be off a tooth or maybe more.

on these audi's what am i looking for, as insurence on my timing,  what cylinder should be at top dead center, 1 or 3, because the one on the passenger side, closest to the firewall was at tdc.

and how much does that crank holding tool do? does it just make sure your crank doesnt move? or does it also help you set timing by only going into the crank one way, and one way only.