Working for TOYOTA

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Autotech321

Autotech321

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 May 2012 - 06:44 AM

I have been a tech now for 11 years and am master ase , but have been working in independent shops my whole career. I received an email from career build with a list of jobs and one was for the Toyota dealer. I sent in my resume and had an interview last night. The dealer seems to be very busy and I have not heard anything bad about them.. My question is for Toyota techs. How is it working for Toyota, hows the training and factory support and tools. last question how is it to work for a dealer vs independent shop? Thanks for the help

#2 fullsizeblazin

fullsizeblazin

Screwed by Car Dealers

• Members
  • 3,073 posts
  • Interests:Motorcycles, Dirt and street. Spreading the truth about Stealerships
    Since the automotive industry killed my interest in cars,...

Life is hard. It's even Harder if you're stupid.

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:37 AM

First off, working at a dealer doesn't mean you work for the manufacturer. You work for the greedy dealer owner. The special tools WILL be scarce if any exist at all. You'll be doing squeaks and rattles all day long at 0.2 a piece. When you're not changing oil and doing recalls you'll be doing goodwill warranty on 10+ year old cars with 100,000+ miles. Whatever money you could make will be cut for less than ALLDATA/warranty times just to make an asshole customer happy. You menu "gravy" work pay will constantly be cut to further fatten the dealer owners wallet. You will be Doing plenty of FREE work, because the service writer is scared of the customer. There will be favoritism and politics, especially on the team system. There will be prima donnas that you'll want to beat the shit out of. And when the pay period is over and you see your paycheck for 60- hours while spending 90+ at the shop, you asshole will be bleeding and so will your pride. DON'T DO IT

#3 montyface